Duke Cancer Institute Blog http://dukecancerinstitute.org/ en Searching For & Finding Cancers' Achilles Heels http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/searching-finding-cancers-achilles-heels The Eighth Annual DCI Scientific Retreat was one for the books. Tue, 25 Jan 2022 00:15:48 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 345710 Family Inspires Hannah Woriax's Medical Career http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/family-inspires-hannah-woriaxs-medical-career The grandfather of breast surgical oncologist Hannah Woriax, MD, was the first Native American to graduate from the Duke Med School and train in Family Medicine. Mon, 24 Jan 2022 18:17:58 -0500 Morag Maclachlan, Inside Duke Health 345709 New NCCN Guidelines for Cervical Cancer Care http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/new-nccn-guidelines-cervical-cancer-care New NCCN cervical cancer patient guidelines were released in December. Junzo Chino, MD, is on the guidelines panel. Sun, 23 Jan 2022 18:37:06 -0500 NCCN Press Release 345438 Alumna Lori Pierce Speaks on Radiation Oncology & Equity of Care (1.26.22) http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/january-seminar-series-features-lori-pierce-univ-michigan Lori Pierce, MD, Duke Med School alumna, presents “The Intersection of Quality in Radiation Delivery and Equity of Care" on Jan. 26. Sun, 23 Jan 2022 00:54:25 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 345168 Woriax Speaks on Bridging Bench and Bedside (2.2.22) http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/woriax-speaks-bridging-bench-and-bedside On Feb. 2 at noon, the Southeastern American Indian Cancer Health Equity Partnership hosts DCI breast surgeon Hannah Woriax, MD, for a virtual lecture (with CME credit available). Fri, 21 Jan 2022 18:19:55 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 344898 Blue Devil of the Week: Developing Mobile Apps to Ease Care http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/blue-devil-week-developing-mobile-apps-ease-care Duke Cancer Institute's Arif Kamal, MD, MBA, MHS, FACP, FAAHPM, FASCO, is profiled by <a href="mailto:Working@Duke">Working@Duke</a>. Fri, 21 Jan 2022 12:07:53 -0500 Jonathan Black 344897 Kamal Named First Chief Patient Officer for ACS http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/kamal-named-first-chief-patient-officer-acs Duke Cancer Institute's Arif Kamal, MD, MBA, MHS, FACP, FAAHPM, FASCO, will lead patient support to improve lives of cancer patients. Fri, 21 Jan 2022 11:50:24 -0500 American Cancer Society 344896 Early Prostate Cancers Can Harbor Aggressive Tumor Cells http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/early-prostate-cancers-can-harbor-aggressive-tumor-cells Duke Cancer Institute researchers Jiaoti Huang, MD, PhD, Brant Inman, MD, and Qing Cheng, PhD, have identified a molecular signature that can spot aggressive cells. Wed, 19 Jan 2022 01:40:08 -0500 Sarah Avery 344107 2022 Duke Research Week Inc. DCI Scientists (1.31.22 to 2.4.22) http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/2022-duke-research-week-inc-dci-scientists-13122-2422 Tune in and watch scientists with ties to DCI and oncology research during Duke University/Duke SoM Research Week. Tue, 18 Jan 2022 21:52:52 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 344106 "Drivers for a Cure" Plates for Sale in SC Benefit DCI Research http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/drivers-cure-plates-sale-sc-benefit-dci-research Special "Drivers for a Cure" license plates are now being offered in South Carolina. Proceeds benefit DCI and MUSC Hollings Cancer Center research. Tue, 18 Jan 2022 11:01:24 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 344104