Duke Cancer Institute Blog http://dukecancerinstitute.org/ en Parents of Children with Cancer Have Additional Worries During COVID http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/parents-children-cancer-have-additional-worries-during-covid Survey of 360 parents, caregivers of pediatric cancer patients, led by Kyle Walsh, PhD, found canceled/delayed appointments, increased anxiety, financial distress. Wed, 24 Feb 2021 09:56:42 -0500 Sarah Avery 247983 Cracking the Case of a Deadly Type of Kidney Cancer http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/cracking-case-uncommon-deadly-type-kidney-cancer A research team led by Andrew Armstrong, MD, MSc, identifies new targets for treating non-clear cell renal carcinoma. Wed, 24 Feb 2021 08:31:04 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 247982 Nobel Laureate Bob Lefkowitz, MD, Publishes Memoir http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/nobel-laureate-bob-lefkowitz-md-publishes-memoir Nobel laureate and DCI member Robert Lefkowitz’ first memoir, “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Stockholm,” was published this month. Fri, 19 Feb 2021 22:04:52 -0500 Lindsay Key, MFA, MNR 246979 DCI Urges Priority Access to COVID-19 Vaccines for Cancer Patients & Survivors http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/dci-urges-priority-access-covid-19-vaccines-cancer-patients-survivors DCI, with 130 cancer centers & orgs, signed letter urging Biden admin. & U.S. states to continue prioritizing cancer patients, survivors in COVID-19 vaccine rollout. Wed, 17 Feb 2021 13:26:31 -0500 DCI Communications 246485 February Newsmakers http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/february-newsmakers-5 Here are some of the DCI faculty, researchers and nurses whose work has recently been featured by the media, academic trade publications & journals. Sat, 13 Feb 2021 14:44:26 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 245492 February DCI Seminar Series (2.24.21) http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/february-dci-seminar-series-22421 Ryan B. Corcoran, MD, PhD, director of the GI Cancer Center Program at Mass. General Cancer Center, addresses “Overcoming therapeutic resistance in GI cancers.” Wed, 10 Feb 2021 23:11:15 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 244766 DCI, UNC Investigators Come Together at Virtual Komen MBC Summit (2.19.21) http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/dci-unc-investigators-come-together-virtual-komen-mbc-summit-21921 DCI investigators are invited to attend the Inaugural Metastatic Breast Cancer Collaborative Research Virtual Summit. Wed, 10 Feb 2021 19:42:25 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 244765 Teen Volleyball Player Has A Plan Of Attack For Isolation During Cancer http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/teen-volleyball-player-has-plan-attack-isolation-during-cancer Madelyn Wilson finds that getting involved with Duke's Teen and Young Adult Oncology Program a way to finding purpose after ending active cancer treatment. Mon, 08 Feb 2021 13:12:20 -0500 Angela Spivey 244325 DCI-Led Endometrial Cancer Consortium Hosts Symposium (2.19.21) http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/dci-led-endometrial-cancer-consortium-hosts-symposium-21921 The 2nd annual event (open to the public) raises awareness & support for research to help women with endometrial cancer live longer and healthier lives. Tue, 02 Feb 2021 11:08:31 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 242998 Oeffinger Co-Edits Cancer Screening & Prevention Book http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/oeffinger-co-edits-cancer-screening-prevention-book Kevin Oeffinger, MD, is guest co-editor of a new book covering colorectal, lung, cervical, prostate, skin cancer, and ovarian cancer screening. Mon, 01 Feb 2021 13:11:01 -0500 Julie Poucher Harbin 242774