Duke Cancer Institute Blog http://dukecancerinstitute.org/ en Valdivia Named Distinguished Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/valdivia-named-distinguished-professor-molecular-genetics-and-microbiology DCI member Raphael Valdivia, PhD, has been named the Nanaline Duke Distinguished Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology. Thu, 19 May 2022 19:27:04 -0400 Duke School of Medicine 391562 Willett Named Dewhirst Distinguished Professor of Radiation Oncology http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/willett-named-dewhirst-distinguished-professor-radiation-oncology DCI member Christopher Willett, MD, has been named the Mark W. Dewhirst Distinguished Professor of Radiation Oncology. Thu, 19 May 2022 18:16:41 -0400 Duke School of Medicine 391561 Marks Named Distinguished Professor of Experimental Surgery http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/marks-named-distinguished-professor-experimental-surgery DCI pathologist & surgeon Jeffrey Marks, PhD, has been named "Joseph W. and Dorothy W. Beard Distinguished Professor of Experimental Surgery." Thu, 19 May 2022 17:21:32 -0400 Duke University School of Medicine 391560 Dave Named Wellcome Clinical Distinguished Professor of Medicine http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/dave-named-wellcome-clinical-distinguished-professor-medicine DCI member and physician-scientist Sandeep Dave, MD, MS, has been named the Wellcome Clinical Distinguished Professor of Medicine. Thu, 19 May 2022 16:58:20 -0400 Duke School of Medicine 391559 Upon His Retirement, Modrich Reflects on His Career http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/upon-his-retirement-modrich-reflects-his-career Duke Cancer Institute member Paul Modrich, PhD, chose Duke in 1976 and the next 46 years was history. Wed, 18 May 2022 17:26:51 -0400 Wendy Goldstein 391104 Join Us for Survivorship Day, June 1 http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/join-us-survivorship-day-june-1 Whether you’re a cancer survivor, friend, loved one, or medical professional, this is a day for everyone. Wed, 18 May 2022 11:23:46 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 391103 Bass Receives Administrative Leadership Award http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/bass-receives-administrative-leadership-award-chancellor Gloria Bass, MA, has been a part of the Duke Health family for 41 years, including 26 years at DCI. Tue, 10 May 2022 13:05:54 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 387824 Survivor Friendly http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/survivor-friendly "Survivor Friendly" began in 2016 after the founder, Jacqueline Cromity, had more than her fair share of cancer experiences. Sun, 08 May 2022 18:37:44 -0400 Kristy Sartin, LRT/CTRS 386891 Jumping County Lines: Access to Breast Cancer Care Across NC http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/jumping-county-lines-access-breast-cancer-care-across-nc Breast cancer surgeons help patients in rural areas access services and care. Sat, 07 May 2022 03:45:40 -0400 Jessica Bronchick 385957 Harpole Named Distinguished Professor Cancer Research http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/harpole-named-distinguished-professor-cancer-research An endowed professorship for David Harpole, Jr., MD, will support his ongoing translational and clinical research in lung cancer. Sat, 07 May 2022 03:15:41 -0400 Duke Surgery 385956