Duke Cancer Institute Blog http://dukecancerinstitute.org/ en Cancer Death Rates Declined More Steeply in States that Expanded Medicaid http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/cancer-death-rates-declined-more-steeply-states-expanded-medicaid Cancer deaths were lower in those five states and District of Columbia that expanded Medicaid early-on as part of the Affordable Care Act. Wed, 21 Jul 2021 14:27:26 -0400 Sarah Avery 288690 PUBLIC EVENT: The Importance of Primary Care in Early Cancer Detection http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/public-event-importance-primary-care-early-cancer-detection TODAY at 6:30 p.m.! DCI's Office of Health Equity hosts virtual event on the importance of primary care in early cancer detection. Tue, 20 Jul 2021 00:11:39 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 288200 Micro CT/Micro Irradiator a New Resource Thanks to NIH Grant http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/micro-ctmicro-irradiator-new-resource-thanks-nih-grant An NIH grant awarded to Greg Palmer, PhD, will fund a micro CT/micro irradiator for the Radiation Oncology Research Program. Mon, 19 Jul 2021 10:23:57 -0400 Sarah Brady 287961 FEATURE: Getting to Know Annick Desjardins http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/feature-getting-know-annick-desjardins Some people fall into their life’s work by serendipity or happenstance. Annick Desjardins, MD, FRCPC, is not one of those people. Fri, 09 Jul 2021 17:20:38 -0400 Carol Harbers 285806 A Second Opinion Gives Patient a Second Chance http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/second-opinion-gives-patient-second-chance After a lengthy surgery failed to remove a cancerous mass from her pancreas, Sharlene Mitchell’s doctors told her nothing more could be done. Then she came to Duke. Fri, 09 Jul 2021 15:41:36 -0400 Larissa Biggers, Senior Communications Specialist, DUHS 285804 July Newsmakers http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/july-newsmakers-6 Here are some of the DCI faculty, researchers and nurses whose work has recently been featured by the media, academic trade publications & journals. Wed, 07 Jul 2021 10:43:15 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 285067 McDonnell Awarded $600K Komen Grant http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/mcdonnell-awarded-600k-komen-grant Donald McDonnell, PhD, has been awarded a $600K Susan G. Komen Grant to study a potential new treatment for metastatic ER-positive breast cancer. Tue, 06 Jul 2021 17:57:02 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 285066 August DCI Seminar Series http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/august-dci-seminar-series Keith Ligon, MD, PhD, director, Center for Patient Derived Models, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, addresses "Therapeutic Resistance in Gliomas: Devils in the Details." (August 25) Tue, 06 Jul 2021 16:56:06 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 285065 Distinguished Professorships Awarded to 6 DCI Members http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/distinguished-professorships-awarded-6-dci-members Christopher Counter, PhD, Devon Noonan, PhD, MPH, Charles Gersbach, PhD, Fang-Fang Yin, PhD, Sue Jinks-Robertson, Deborah Muoio, PhD, awarded distinguished professorships. Tue, 29 Jun 2021 10:24:16 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 283315 Duke to Lead National Center for Virtual Imaging Trials http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/duke-lead-national-center-virtual-imaging-trials DCI scientist Ehsan Samei, PhD, Professor of Radiology, Physics, Biomedical Engineering, and Electrical and Computer Engineering, is director of the Center for Virtual Imaging Trials. Tue, 29 Jun 2021 10:11:24 -0400 Lindsay Key, MFA, MNR 283055