Duke Cancer Institute Donor Blog http://dukecancerinstitute.org/ en Crucial Support http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/crucial-support Duke alumnus Ross Bierkan has long supported his alma mater. But his support of melanoma research at Duke is motivated by personal experience. Wed, 06 Nov 2019 12:38:33 -0500 Angela Spivey 87141 Overcoming Resistance http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/overcoming-resistance Can research make immunotherapies work better, for more people? Tue, 05 Nov 2019 17:04:27 -0500 Mary-Russell Roberson 86601 A Tale of Two Drugs http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/tale-two-drugs Man's best friends are providing hope for new osteosarcoma treatments. Tue, 05 Nov 2019 15:20:39 -0500 Whitney J. Palmer 86600 CAR-T Therapy: A Living Drug http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/car-t-therapy-living-drug There's new hope for some lymphoma patients who've run out of options. Tue, 05 Nov 2019 12:01:42 -0500 Mary-Russell Roberson 86599 Keeping the Heart Healthy While Beating Breast Cancer http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/keeping-heart-healthy-while-beating-breast-cancer What if beating breast cancer means weakening what beats in the chest? Mon, 04 Nov 2019 17:09:38 -0500 Whitney J. Palmer 86058 The Miracle Man http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/miracle-man At Duke, Bob Porter of Greenville, South Carolina, found the most caring doctor he ever met. Fri, 01 Nov 2019 13:25:14 -0400 84445 Fighting Side Effects http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/fighting-side-effects Stephen Totty though he had simply pulled a pectoral muscle while moving furniture. But the soreness lingered. Then a painful “water balloon” full of blood developed. Thu, 31 Oct 2019 18:23:48 -0400 Mary-Russell Roberson 83906 Accelerating Immunotherapy http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/accelerating-immunotherapy Translating Findings from a lab into patients in a clinic can be a long slog up a steep hill. The new DCI Center for Cancer Immunotherapy helps researchers with the climb. Thu, 31 Oct 2019 14:27:59 -0400 Angela Spivey 83905 Fall 2019 Breakthroughs Message from the Director http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/fall-2019-breakthroughs-message-director Good news about Duke Cancer Institute's continued recognition as a leader in cancer research and care, and new investments in immunotherapy. Tue, 29 Oct 2019 15:54:30 -0400 Michael B. Kastan, MD, PhD 82822 “Oncology Jedi” Joseph Moore Retires From Clinical Practice http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/oncology-jedi-joseph-moore-retires-clinical-practice Duke Cancer Institute hematologic oncologist Joseph Moore, MD, after 44 years, retired from clinical practice this summer. He and colleagues reflect on his legacy. Sat, 28 Sep 2019 23:19:43 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 67161