Duke Cancer Institute Donor Blog http://dukecancerinstitute.org/ en $2.1 Million Gift Is Latest in the Mario Family's Contributions to Innovations in Education and Health Care http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/21-million-gift-latest-mario-familys-contributions-innovations-education Ernest Mario, PhD, the second-longest-serving trustee in Duke University's history, and his family have made a gift to nurture innovation in health care and patient experience for years to come. Fri, 11 Nov 2022 11:41:19 -0500 464427 DCI Rings Nasdaq Opening Bell http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/dci-rings-nasdaq-opening-bell On October 7, 2022, the DCI Teen and Young Adult Oncology Program joined the I'm Not Done Yet Foundation in ringing the opening bell at Nasdaq. Tue, 01 Nov 2022 15:10:49 -0400 Julie Poucher Harbin 460967 Cancer Center Founder William Shingleton Remembered; Four DCI Supporters Honored http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/2022-shingleton-awardees The 2022 Shingleton Society dinner honored four awardees for their service in advancing the fight against cancer and paid video tribute to Cancer Center founder William Shingleton, MD. Thu, 27 Oct 2022 14:50:56 -0400 Angela Spivey 459062 Introducing Spring 2022 Breakthroughs http://dukecancerinstitute.org/news/introducing-spring-2022-breakthroughs Looking to the Next Half Century Tue, 28 Jun 2022 14:48:00 -0400 Angela Spivey 408549 Dissecting Disparities in Cancer Outcomes http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/dissecting-disparities-cancer-outcomes Race, and how people are treated differently because of it, leads to major differences in health outcomes for cancer. Tomi Akinyemiju, PhD, has built her career examining these disparities so we can learn how to fix them. Fri, 17 Jun 2022 14:17:00 -0400 Angela Spivey 404563 An Extra Birthday http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/extra-birthday The color blue and butterflies always make Jamie Cooper Moales think of her late sister, Sara Elizabeth Cooper. Thu, 16 Jun 2022 14:22:42 -0400 Angela Spivey 404121 Looking to the Future of Cancer Care http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/looking-future-cancer-care As Duke celebrates its 50th anniversary of cancer discovery and care, researchers and providers envision the future. Sun, 22 May 2022 13:06:56 -0400 Angela Spivey 392924 The Path to Care http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/path-care "Sometimes we have to go on a journey we don't want to go on. But I'm getting better," said breast cancer survivor Vennice Roberts. Fri, 20 May 2022 15:18:32 -0400 Angela Spivey 392016 Building Trust to Beat Cancer http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/building-trust-beat-cancer Donor support is helping more men receive screening, education, and follow-up care to detect and treat prostate cancer earlier, when it's more curable. Fri, 20 May 2022 11:45:46 -0400 Angela Spivey 392015 50 Years of Hope http://dukecancerinstitute.org/donors/your-gifts-at-work/50-years-hope Meet the mom and daughter who lit the virtual Tree of Hope at the Duke Cancer Patient Support Programʼs 31st annual Tree of Hope Lighting Ceremony. Thu, 19 May 2022 16:19:05 -0400 391558