Kirsch Receives J.W. Osborne Award

The Radiation Research Society recently presented the 2017 J.W. Osborne Award to David G. Kirsch, MD, PhD, the Barbara Levine University professor of Radiation Oncology and Pharmacology & Cancer Biology at Duke.

The J.W. Osborne Award honors a member of the Radiation Research Society who has contributed significantly to the understanding of normal tissue radiation responses. Kirsch is the leader of Duke Cancer Institute's Radiation Oncology & Imaging Program and serves as vice chair for Basic and Translational Research in the Department of Radiation Oncology. His lab uses sophisticated genetically engineered mouse models to study mechanisms of tumor and normal tissue response to radiation.

Kirsch graduated from Duke University in 1993. He received his MD and PhD degrees from Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in 2000. Kirsch completed his residency in Radiation Oncology at Massachusetts General Hospital and post-doctoral research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He joined Duke in 2017 to start his independent laboratory and was promoted to full professor in 2015. 

In 2014 Kirsch was recognized with the Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentoring. In 2015 he received the Ruth and A. Morris Williams, Junior Faculty Research Prize for groundbreaking research in basic science. In 2016 Kirsch was elected to the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and in the same year Kirsch received the Outstanding Investigator Award from the National Cancer Institute. To learn more about David Kirsch, MD, PhD, and his areas of focus, visit Kirsch Lab. For more information on the Radiation Research Society, go to