Barrett Named To Receive 2018 Inclusive Excellence Award

Nadine J. Barrett, PhD, director of DCI’s Office of Health Equity (OHE), was recently named by the Duke University School of Medicine (SoM) Office of Diversity and Inclusion to receive the 2018 Michelle P. Winn Inclusive Excellence Award.

The annual award recognizes individuals within Duke University School of Medicine, who have made significant contributions to diversity and inclusion.

“We received truly outstanding nominations again this year,” wrote Kenyon Railey, MD, assistant chief diversity officer with Duke SoM, Office of Diversity and Inclusion, in his award notification letter. “Dr. Barrett was chosen among them as this year’s winner due to her commitment to excellence, innovation and leadership through creating a more diverse and inclusive environment.”

In addition to her leadership role with OHE, Barrett is assistant professor of the Department of Community and Family Medicine with Duke SoM. She also serves a director of the Community Engagement Core for Duke CTSI. Barrett is co-director of the Cancer Research and Education Program, a collaboration between North Carolina Central University (NCCU) and Duke. Barrett has dedicated her career to reducing health disparities among vulnerable and at-risk populations.

In February, Barrett was appointed to serve on the board of trustees for the Association of Community Cancer Centers (ACCC). She is also a member of the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute Advisory Panel on Addressing Health Disparities and the recipient of the 2017 ACCC Innovator Award.

The Michelle P. Winn Inclusive Excellence Award was established in 2016 in memory of Michelle Winn, MD, former associate professor of Nephrology in the Department of Medicine. Winn, who passed away in 2014, was deeply committed to diversity and inclusion. The Office of Diversity and Inclusion will host the 2018 Michelle P. Winn Inclusive Excellence Award Luncheon in Nadine Barrett’s honor on Friday, June 15, at Trent Semans Center for Health Education.