Kirsch Elected Fellow Of AAAS

Three Duke faculty have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), including Duke Cancer Institute's David G. Kirsch, MD, PhD.

Kirsch is the Barbara Levine University Professor in the Department of Radiation Oncology, where he is also vice chair for basic and translational research. He is also a professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology. Kirsch investigates cancer biology, using mouse models to study radiation oncology and sarcomagenesis.

Other Duke faculty named Fellows of the AAAS include Ana P. Barros, PhD, the James L. Meriam Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Thomas Mitchell-Olds, PhD, the Newman Ivey White Professor of Biology. 

Election as a AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers to recognize scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. This year’s AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on Nov. 24, 2017. There are 396 new fellows being recognized this year. The new Fellows will be inducted on Saturday, Feb. 17, during the 2018 AAAS Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas.