Sampson Elected to AAP

Co-leader of the Duke Cancer Institute Neuro-Oncology Research Program John Sampson, MD, PhD, has been elected to the Association of American Physicians, an honor given to those who have attained excellence in the pursuit of medical knowledge and its application to clinical medicine to improve health.

Sampson is chair of Duke Neurosurgery and the Robert H. and Gloria Wilkins Distinguished Professor of Neurosurgery. He is a recognized leader in the surgical resection and experimental treatment of complex brain tumors. His clinical practice is focused on treating patients with both benign and malignant brain tumors, while his research laboratory is actively investigating immunotherapy and new modalities of precision drug delivery to brain tumor tissue while avoiding healthy tissue.

Sampson’s research led to the development of a vaccine against a common mutation in brain tumors that was given Breakthrough Therapy Designation by the FDA after it was shown to extend survival in patients with glioblastoma multiforme, the most lethal form of brain cancer. He has authored more than 240 peer-reviewed publications in this field and has been continuously funded by the NIH since 2000.

The Association of American Physicians is a nonprofit, professional organization founded in 1885 by seven physicians for “the advancement of scientific and practical medicine.” The Association is composed of members who are leading senior physician scientists and are competitively selected. Currently there are more than 1700 active members and approximately 600 emeritus and honorary members from the United States, Canada and other countries. The goals of its members include the pursuit of medical knowledge, and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and their application to clinical medicine. Each year, individuals having attained excellence in achieving these goals are recognized by nomination for membership by the Council of the Association. Their election gives them the opportunity to share their scientific discoveries and contributions with their colleagues at the annual meeting.